Chaplin’s Corner by Reverend Edward Brady

By Patrick Gubicza

Rev. Edward E. Brady

Grace returns us to the particular and local,
where we need to take our own steps
and create a life that has never been lived before.
This journey leads us into more uniqueness
where we begin to know ourselves loved by God.

Since 9/11, our Country has been vigilant in protecting our ‘Domestic Tranquility’. Here are some thoughts found on wiki:
The different levels triggered specific actions by federal agencies and state and local governments, and they affected the level of security at some airports and other public facilities. It was often called the “terror alert level” by the U.S. media. The system was, as scheduled, phased out April 27, 2011, and replaced with a new system called the National Terrorism Advisory System. The National Terrorism Advisory System (NTAS) is a terrorism threat advisory scale used by the United States Department of Homeland Security since April 26, 2011.
The system was announced on January 27, 2011 by Secretary of Homeland Security Janet Napolitano during a speech at George Washington University. Her official announcement followed reports of the NTAS that had surfaced the day before. The NTAS is the replacement for the color-coded Homeland Security Advisory System introduced by the George W. Bush administration in 2002. Napolitano said the color-coded system often presented “little practical information” to the public, and that the NTAS will provide alerts “specific to the threat” with “a specified end date.” On December 7, 2015, a day after an Address to the Nation by the President from the Oval Office, a plan to add a new “intermediate” threat level to the NTAS was announced by DHS Secretary Jeh Johnson to reflect a “new phase” in the global terrorist threat against the homeland following the November 2015 Paris attacks and the 2015 San Bernardino attack.
“When introducing the National Terrorism Advisory System, Napolitano said, “Today I announce the end of the old system of color-coded alerts. In its place, we will implement a new system that’s built on a clear and simple premise: When a threat develops that could impact you—the public— we will tell you. We will provide whatever information we can so you know how to protect yourselves, your families, and your communities.”
On December 16, 2015, Secretary Johnson activated the bulletin capability for the first time, the alert capability has not been activated as of January 27, 2016.
Our Country now operates on a new heightened awareness, which allows us to live on a daily basis with a new type of ‘Domestic Tranquility’. We have to live in the real world and are grateful for all the hard work that all levels of ‘Law Enforcement’ provides for us. Let us be equally vigilant in our prayer life this Easter Season and all year round, as we try to live life to the fullest, as Jesus intended us to.